+232 22 230 884 info@yearbooksl.com
To Order the latest updated edition Click Here


development partners

 Detailed information about Sierra Leone’s Development Partners



 Your definitive guides to business advice in Sierra Leone



 Helpful resources and advice for Sierra Leoneans




Immigration and Visa Information

All persons entering Sierra Leone must have a valid passport or travel document. Citizens of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) do not require a visa to enter the country, but citizens of all other countries do. A visa can be obtained in on arrival or in advance through our online visa facilitation service which provides your visa in 1-2 days.

Even though these are normally processed in 2-3 business days, we recommend applying about a week and a half before travel. Permission to travel to Sierra Leone can only be issued by the Immigration office, therefore there is no guarantee that your visa will be granted. Payment can be made instantly and securely through PayPal. For the cost for different nationalities have a look at our visa application page. Please note that the landing visa you will receive is valid for entry anytime within 3 months and for stays of up to 1 month. You can apply for extensions, multiple-entry and business visas when in Freetown or through the relevant High Commission or Embassy.

Visa exemption

Citizens of the following 15 countries can visit Sierra Leone without a visa

An agreement between Sierra Leone and  Saint Kitts and Nevis on mutual visa-free visits for 90 days was signed in February 2017 and is yet to be ratified.

Non-ordinary passports

A maximum stay of 1 month without a visa is allowed for holders of diplomatic and service passports issued to nationals of Iran and for holders of diplomatic, service and public affairs passports of China.

Visa waiver agreement for diplomatic and service passport was signed with  Rwanda in August 2019 and it is yet to be ratified.

Recent Developments on Visa Information

Sierra Leone Government recently announced new visa policy for visiting travellers that gives visa on arrival for all African nationals and other selected citizens from across the world. Citizens within the Economic Community of West African States will benefit from the bloc’s visa-free protocol, “while all other countries with which Sierra Leone has a visa-free arrangement will continue to enjoy visa-free access.

Citizens of the African Union member states will enjoy visa-on-arrival but will be required to pay a $25 dollar fee. Other nations set to benefit will be required to pay $80 visa fee on arrival. They are amongst others: United States, United Kingdom, European Union member states and those in BRICS – Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa. Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Kuwait, Oman (the Gulf Cooperation Council nations) as well as citizens of Iran, Cambodia, Indonesia, Singapore, Israel, Japan, and South Korea are listed among others.

Visa on arrival

Citizens of the following countries can obtain a visa on arrival:

For more information, please visit the Immigration Department Website:

www.immigrationservices.gov.sl – Sierra Leone Immigration Services – Real Work Permit

www.ntb.gov.sl – National Tourist Board

www.tourism.gov.sl – Ministry of Tourism and Cultural Affairs